Ask Nigeria Header Logo

FG appoints committee to revise minimum wage

Photo of author

By Mercy Kelani

Formation of the Committee has been sanctioned by President Bola Tinubu.

A committee consisting of 37 individuals, appointed by the Federal Government, will be established to address the matter of the National Minimum Wage. Their primary task is to propose a revised National Minimum Wage for the entire nation. As per the declaration made by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the formation of the Committee has been sanctioned by President Bola Tinubu. Consequently, the grand commencement of this Committee was slated to take place on January 30, 2024, precisely at noon, within the Council Chamber located in the esteemed Presidential Villa at the State House in Abuja.

Formerly serving as the Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, Bukar Goni Aji will assume the role of Chairperson for the Committee. This Committee encompasses representatives from not only the Federal and State Governments, but also the Private Sector and Organized Labour. The Federal Government is represented by a group of notable individuals who hold key positions. These include Nkeiruka Onyejeocha, who serves as the Minister of State for Labour and Employment. Another important figure is Wale Edun, the Minister of Finance and Coordinating Minister of the Economy. Atiku Bagudu is responsible for the Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning.

Individuals from NECA will be joining the committee.

Heading the Civil Service of the Federation is Dr. Yemi-Esan. Lastly, Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri holds the position of Chairman/CEO of NSIWC, while Ekpo Nta serves as Secretary. The North Central region is represented by Governor Mohammed Umaru Bago of Niger State, while the North East region is represented by Sen. Bala Mohammed, the Governor of Bauchi State. The North West region is represented by Governor Dikko Umar Radda of Katsina State. In the South East, Governor Prof. Charles Soludo of Anambra State serves as the representative. Sen. Ademola Adeleke, the Governor of Osun State, represents the South West region. Lastly, the South South region is represented by Mr. Bassey Edet Otu, the Governor of Cross River State.

In the meantime, the government has chosen a few individuals from the Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA) who will be joining the committee. These esteemed individuals include Wale-Smatt Oyerinde, the Director-General of NECA, as well as Mr. Chuma Nwankwo and Mr. Thompson Akpabio. Michael Olawale-Cole, the National President, is one of the esteemed individuals belonging to the Nigeria Association of Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA). Alongside him, there stands Ahmed Rabiu, the National Vice President, a well-respected figure within the organization. Completing this distinguished trio is Humphrey Ngonadi (NPOM), the esteemed National Life President of NACCIMA.

Some individuals represent MAN in the committee.

Representatives selected from the National Association of Small and Medium Enterprise (NASME) are Dr. Abdul Rashid Yerima, President & Chairman of Council; Theophilus Nnorom Okwuchukwu, Zonal Vice President-North West, Dr. Muhammed Nura Bello is representing the Private Sector. Representing the Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN) in the committee are some notable individuals: Mrs. Grace Omo-Lamai, the esteemed Human Resource Director at Nigerian Breweries; Segun Ajayi-Kadir, the Director-General of MAN; and Lady Ada Chukwudozie, the accomplished Managing Director of Dozzy Oil and Gas Limited.

Included in the organized labour groups in Nigeria are individuals such as Comrade Joe Ajaero, who serves as the President of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC). Other notable members include Comrade Emmanuel Ugboaja, Comrade Prince Adewale Adeyanju, Comrade Ambali Akeem Olatunji, Comrade Benjamin Anthony, and Prof. Theophilus Ndukuba. The Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) comprises of various members, such as Comrade Festus Osifo, who holds the position of President, Comrade Tommy Etim Okon, serving as Deputy President I, and Comrade Kayode Surajudeen Alakija, holding the position of Deputy President II. Additionally, the TUC includes Comrade Jimoh Oyibo as Deputy President III, Comrade Nuhu Toro as the Secretary-General, and Comrade Hafusatu Shuaib as the Chairperson of the Women Committee.

Related Article: New Minimum Wage to be Implemented by 2024

So as to ensure a smooth clearance process at the Security Gate and timely arrival at the Council Chamber, members are strongly advised to arrive early. It is imperative that they are seated in the Council Chamber no later than 11.30 am. Additionally, there will be a shuttle bus stationed at the Pilot Gate, ready to transport members to the venue. For further details, the members of the Committee are requested to get in touch with Mr. Chiadi Adighiogu, who serves as the Director Compensation at the National Salaries, Incomes, and Wages Commission and leads the Secretariat.

Related Link

Wage Indicator: Website

The content on is given for general information only and does not constitute a professional opinion, and users should seek their own legal/professional advice. There is data available online that lists details, facts and further information not listed in this post, please complete your own investigation into these matters and reach your own conclusion. accepts no responsibility for losses from any person acting or refraining from acting as a result of content contained in this website and/or other websites which may be linked to this website.

Fact Checking Tool -

5 1 vote
Rate This Article
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
26 days ago

FG appoints committee to revise minimum wage. – Formation of the Committee has been sanctioned by President Bola Tinubu.Express your point of view.

26 days ago

The FG forms a committee to update the minimum wage. President Bola Tinubu has given the Committee’s formation his approval. Proposing a new National Minimum Wage for the entire country is the main duty.Members of the Private Sector, Organized Labor, and the Federal and State Governments are all represented on this Committee.

26 days ago

As quickly as possible, I wish to see this new minimum salary revised. This is to guarantee that we can swiftly implement a new minimum wage.A number of distinguished people who occupy important positions in other resolved minimum wage issues represent the federal government. 

Adeoye Adegoke
26 days ago

That’s awesome to hear! It’s really important to have a fair and updated minimum wage that reflects the current economic conditions. By forming this committee, President Bola Tinubu is showing a commitment to addressing the needs of workers and ensuring their well-being. I believe it’s crucial for the committee to consider various factors like inflation, cost of living, and the impact on businesses. It’s a complex task, but with careful deliberation and input from all stakeholders, I’m hopeful that the committee will be able to come up with a revised minimum wage that strikes a balance between the needs of workers and the sustainability of businesses. Ultimately, the goal should be to improve the standard of living for workers while also supporting economic growth.

26 days ago

The appointment of a committee to revise the National Minimum Wage is a positive step towards addressing economic concerns and ensuring fair compensation for workers. It demonstrates a commitment to inclusive decision-making, involving representatives from various sectors. I hope the committee’s efforts lead to a just and sustainable minimum wage that reflects the economic realities of the country.